top of page
layayaorg6

The gift of connection - through art!

I have had a great time seeing old friends and meeting new people during the print pick ups this weekend! I have also had an unexpected gift in this project in the form of more than a hundred phone calls and in-person conversations with people in our community this week alone. Many eagerly told me stories about how the bridge and tunnel has played a part in their life. I have heard from people in our community who were in high school in the 1950’s when they opened the tunnel and they recounted the story about being in the BCHS band and marching through as a band to open it; it was a major event.  I have heard about the days when Belle Chasse Highway (23) was a two-lane highway and the tunnel was two way traffic (can you imagine?!?).  I have heard from a lady who almost gave birth in the tunnel because the bridge was struck up (surprise!) and they routed traffic through the tunnel. There have been so many stories and recounting of memories and I am grateful that my artwork has been a ticket to me getting to hear those memories of our community recounted.  I will have a couple more print pick up dates before Christmas and I look forward to seeing many more smiling faces and hearing more stories. I would love to share some of the stories here so if you have a BC bridge or tunnel story feel free to email me at Johughesart@gmail.com 

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page